Personality

For this week’s first impression post, I took different personality tests to see if they described my personality and evaluated them to see if they are credible.

  1. Humanmetrics Typology Test:

On this test my personality type was ESFJ: Extravert (50%), Sensing (19%), Feeling (16%), Judging (9%). This is an accurate representation of my personality.  I consider myself an extravert. I love being around people and tend to be very outgoing once I am used to my environment. I understand why my sensing scored higher than my intuition because I like to make conclusions based on my experiences in my environment. It also makes sense that my feeling scored higher than thinking because again I like to asses the situation before I act and I like to think that I am a more empathetic person than I am logical or analytical. Lastly, I agree that my judging is higher than perceiving because

  1. Personality Test:

For this test also I received the type ESFJ. I think this accurately describes my perception of my personality. I thought it was interesting how I got the same type for this test and the humanistic test. Each test describes occupations. Both gave careers that are similar to occupational therapy which is what I plan to practice in the future. I think that this personality test is also credible. It allows others to gage their strengths and weaknesses and then relates them to everyday life.

  1. Big 5 Personality Test:

For this test I received the following scores for the 5 major factors that make up a persons personality: Extroversion (58), Emotional stability (70), Agreeableness (80), Conscientiousness (31), Intellect/Imagination (23). Since I scored higher on extroverted that means I am friendly and optimistic which is accurate. Since I scored lower on the intellect section I tend to be more traditional which is also correct. This test seems to be credible because it gives examples to each factor and descriptions what each factor means.

  1. Color Quiz:

This quiz seemed silly to me because it seemed odd how colors can tell so much about a person’s personality. I did not see the correlation between picking colors and determining a personality type and factors that go along with it. I don’t think that this test was a credible, accurate portrayal of my personality.

 

2 thoughts on “Personality

  1. Hi Emily, great post! I found it interesting that throughout your different tests, you got similar results. With the typology and personality test I am surprised that you got the same types for both. When I took it, I actually got two different types, but I still agree with both of them and their descriptions. I wonder if because you already consider yourself certain traits that when you take tests like these, you answer in a way that agrees more with that trait. Introspectively thinking to myself, I don’t really like to classify what traits I have just so I can try and be more honest to myself, which may be a reason why I have two different typologies in my results. When it came to the big five test, your traits aligned with how you perceive yourself and I know that for that test, my traits also aligned with how I perceive myself. I would love to see if our personalties change throughout different stages of life and if the tests can show these changes. I do know that culture can influence your personality, however I wonder if immersion into different cultures can also influence personality changes in a person. Finally, for the last test, I would have to agree with you that the colors is an interesting test but does not seem like an accurate portrayal of personality. I would think that since certain colors can exhibit different emotions in people, that maybe what colors we chose first and last depended on what we like as colors, therefore impacting how we perceive the world somehow. Overall, good job!

    Like

  2. I think it is fantastic that you got the same or similar results for all of your personality tests. I agree that the color test is silly, but it was accurate and interesting to see the accuracy of the test. I believe out of all of the tests, the Humanmetrics Typology Test and the Personality Test were the most accurate, especially since you got the same results for both personality tests. My results were similar, but for these two tests I got ISFP and ESFP. Either way I believe it is accurate because I can be very extroverted or introverted. Very good job!

    Like

Leave a comment